WP’s Student Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists Named Regional Campus Chapter of the Year, Heads to Finals for National Award

From left: WPSPJ president Angelica Amegashie, graduate student liaison Beatrice Amune, member Diana Kochaha, adviser Nicholas Hirshon, secretary Andrew Herbst, vice president Rochelle Estrada, and treasurer Angela Amegashie.

William Paterson University’s student chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (WPSPJ) has been named Regional Campus Chapter of the Year, making it one of six finalists for the national Outstanding Campus Chapter award—a title it won once before, in 2020.

Founded in 2017 by WP journalism professor Nicholas Hirshon, this year marks the third WPSPJ has been recognized as the finest chapter from among its region, which encompasses New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Central/Eastern Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

The regional campus chapter winners will be honored and the national winner will be announced at the Society of Professional Journalists convention in Las Vegas on September 29.

Up against William Paterson’s chapter for the National Campus Chapter of the Year award are University of Central Florida, Ohio University, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, the University of La Verne, and the University of Arkansas.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.